

Irish Fireball Association Championship of Ireland



7 – 9 August 2020

Hosted by Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club (DMYC)
West Pier, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin
01 2801371 - office@dmyc.ie



NOTICE OF RACE

1. RULES

This Regatta will be governed by the WS Racing Rules of Sailing, the International Fireball Class Rules in force at the time of the event, this Notice of Race (except as any of these are altered by the Sailing Instructions), and the Sailing Instructions. The organising authority is Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club. The rules of the International Fireball Class will be altered as follows:

2. Limitations of Equipment

International Fireball Class Rule 23 'Limitations of Equipment' SHALL NOT apply to this event.

2.1 Identification

Subject to the approval of the Race Committee a boat chartered or loaned for the event may declare at the time of entry or registration a sail number which may be different from the registered number of the hull provided that the number declared shall not be the sail number of any other boat competing in the regatta (References RRS 77, Appendix G).

3. ALTERATIONS OF RACING RULES

The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) may be modified in accordance with RRS 86.1(b).

4. ADVERTISING

The event is designated a Category C event in accordance with Appendix 1.

The Organizing Authority may require competitors to display Event Sponsors advertising material as prescribed under Appendix.1 and International Fireball Class Rule 24.

5. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

5.1 General

All competitors shall comply with WS Eligibility Rules (RRS Appendix K1).

The Regatta is open to boats of the International Fireball Class whose helm and crew are members of a National Fireball Class Association recognised by Fireball International.

5.2 Entry Procedure

Entries will be accepted in the club from 9.00 am on the morning of the event. The entry fee will be €30. DMYC can not provide "on the water lunches" however these may be purchased at local shops. Competitors may enter by completing an entry form at registration.

5.3 Entry Disclaimer

It is the Competitor's decision to enter the Regatta or to start in any race. Competitors shall accept that their participation in the Regatta is at their sole exclusive risk in every respect. By way of entry to the Regatta competitors shall indemnify Fireball International, the International Fireball Association of Ireland, DMYC, their officers, members, servants and agents in respect of all claims and demands of whatever nature which may be made upon them in connection with or howsoever arising from their participation or intended participation in the Regatta. Competitors shall acknowledge that Fireball International, the International Fireball Association of Ireland, DMYC, their officers, members, servants and agents accept no responsibility in respect of loss of life, personal injury or loss or damage to property which may be sustained by reason of their participation or intended participation in the Regatta or howsoever arising in connection with these events.

5.4 Insurance

All boats shall have adequate third party insurance cover of not less than £ 3,000,000 (or the equivalent thereof in any other convertible currency) for any accident. All owners / competitors who sign the entry forms are deemed to have made a declaration that they hold such cover. Owners / competitors not holding this cover shall withdraw their entry.

6. Registration & Race Schedule

Registration will take place from 12:00 - 17:00 hrs on Friday Proposed Schedule of Races
Friday - up to 2 races run back to back
Saturday - up to 4 races run back to back
Sunday - up to 3 races run back to back
Regatta Briefing: 15:30 hrs Friday

Warning Signal: 17:30 hrs approx Friday

7. Sailing Area & Racing

Racing will take place in the Seapoint Bay area, races shall be a mixture of Triangle and Windward Leeward type courses.

8. Scoring & prizes

The Low Point Scoring System Rule A4 will apply, when a fourth race is completed there will be 1 discard. After 8 races are completed there will be 2 discards.

Prizes will be awarded to the winners of the event as designated by organising authority. Perpetual prizes remain the property of the Irish Fireball Association.